Greeting from President

Toshio HeikeToshio Heike, MD, PhD
President of the JSIAD

We are delighted to announce the foundation of the Japanese Society for Immunodeficiency and Autoinflammatory diseases (JSIAD) with the merger of three research groups; Japan Immunodeficiency Study Group, Autoinflammatory Disease Study Group, and Phagocyte Dysfunction Study Group. JSIAD aims to promote early diagnosis, treatment, and scientific research of primary immunodeficiency and autoinflammatory disorders. The society will be the major organization in Japan where the latest information in the clinical and research field of primary immunodeficiency and autoinflammatory diseases will be exchanged.

Both the primary immunodeficiencies and the autoinflammatory disorders are very rare. However, these disorders are attracting more attention recently as they affect various organs and patients of any age from early infancy to adulthood. Recent advances in the genomic medicine and bioscience including iPS cell technology are driving the elucidation of pathophysiology and development of therapeutic strategies. Technology innovation will bring about further clarification of disease mechanism and development of new treatments. Our mission is to promptly deliver these advances to the patients. To this aim, the society enhances its expertise as specialists, focuses on education of young doctors, and promotes the social awareness of the disorders. The society is committed to serious discussion and research to clarify the pathogenesis of primary immunodeficiency and autoinflammatory diseases, to develop new treatment strategies, and to provide complete recovery and better QOL to the patients.

Outline of JSIAD


Promoting progress of diagnosis, treatment, and research on immunodeficiency and autoinflammatory diseases, and sharing information on each

Main Activities

(1) Holding academic conferences, seminars, and lectures
(2) Editing and publishing academic journals and books
(3) Research and study the realm of immunodeficiency and autoinflammatory diseases
(4) Leading education and training in the realm of immunodeficiency and autoinflammatory diseases
(5) Public awareness and information-sharing activities
(6) Coordinating with related agencies and academic societies in Japan and overseas
(7) Other activities necessary for achieving the goals of this society

Established Date: June 22, 2017

Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board

Toshio Heike (Hyogo Prefectural Amagasaki General Medical Center)

Vice-Chairman of the Board

Masashi Onodera (National Center for Child Health and Development)
Shigeaki Nonoyama (National Defense Medical College)

General Affairs Director

Tomohiro Morio (Tokyo Medical and Dental University)


Hiroaki Ida (Kurume University School of Medicine)
Kohsuke Imai (Tokyo Medical and Dental University)
Hidenori Ohnishi (Gifu University Graduate School of Medicine)
Osamu Ohara (Kazusa DNA Research Institute)
Nobuo Kanazawa (Wakayama Medical University)
Hirokazu Kanegane (Tokyo Medical and Dental University
Naotomo Kambe (Kansai Medical University)
Masao Kobayashi (Hiroshima University Graduate School of Biomedical & Health Sciences)
Yoji Sasahara (Tohoku University Graduate School of Medicine)
Hidetoshi Takada (Faculty of Medicine, University of Tsukuba)
Ryuta Nishikomori (Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine)
Takahiko Horiuchi (Kyushu University Beppu Hospital)
Junya Masumoto (Ehime University)
Kiyoshi Migita (Fukushima Medical University School of Medicine)
Hideki Muramatsu (Nagoya University)
Akihiro Yachie (Kanazawa University)
Masafumi Yamada (Hokkaido University Graduate School of Medicine)


Tadashi Ariga (Hokkaido University Graduate School of Medicine)

Selected Committees and Chairperson

Primary Immunodeficiency and Autoinflammatory Diseases Database Project

Chairperson: Shigeaki Nonoyama
Vice Chairperson: Kohsuke Imai
Members: Kazushi Izawa, Hiroaki Ida, Hidenori Ohnishi, Satoshi Okada, Nobuo Kanazawa, Hirokazu Kanegane, Toshinao Kawai, Naotomo Kambe, Yoji Sasahara, Hidetoshi Takada, Ryuta Nishikomori, Takahiko Horiuchi, Kiyoshi Migita, Hideki Muramatsu, Takahiro Yasumi, Masafumi Yamada, Taizo Wada, Masataka Ishimura

Ethics Committee

Chairperson: Masashi Onodera
Vice Chairperson: Kiyoshi Migita

General Affairs Committee

Chairperson: Tomohiro Morio
Vice Chairperson: Hiroaki Ida
Members: Kohsuke Imai, Hirokazu Kanegane, Ryuta Nishikomori, Satoshi Okada

Finance Committee

Chairperson: Akihiro Yachie
Vice Chairperson: Masao Kobayashi

Public Relations Committee

Chairperson: Hirokazu Kanegane
Vice Chairperson: Naotomo Kambe
Members: Hidenori Ohnishi, Junya Masumoto, Yoji Sasahara, Masafumi Yamada